Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Staff Directory  |  Translate

City Government

The City of Lexington has a mayor-council form of government.  The city council consists of a mayor and four council members, who are elected at large.  The mayor serves a two-year term and the council members serve four-year, staggered terms.  Local elections are held in November of even-numbered years. 

The regular meetings of the City Council are held at 7:00 p.m. on the first and third Thursdays of each month at Lexington City Hall. These meetings are open to the public. Residents are encouraged to attend or watch them live on Lexington's Cable TV Channel 16.  Additional Council meeting rebroadcast times are advertised on Channel 16. 

A city administrator is responsible for the administration of policies and carrying out of city council directives.  Advisory Boards and Commissions make recommendations to the Council on various topics.

© 2016, City of Lexington, Minnesota. All rights reserved.